BOTYA finalists

The finalists for 2011 Book of the Year Award have been announced in quite a few categories. The winner will be announced June 23.

In the general fiction category:

  • Alabaster Houses by Lara McLaughlin (Wye Knot Books)
  • Before the First Snow: by Walter M. Brasch (Greeley & Stone, Publishers)
  • Bogmeadow’s Wish by Terry Kay (Mercer University Press)
  • Downward Dog, Upward Fog by Meryl Davids Landau (Alignment Publishing Co.)
  • Hassie Calhoun by Pamela Cory (Scarletta Press)
  • I Am Lucky Bird by Fleur Philips (New Dawn Publishers)
  • Jane of the Jungle by Jane Baskin (iUniverse)
  • Mama’s Shoes by Rebecca D. Elswick (Abbott Press)
  • Mercy Creek by Matt Matthews (Hub City Press)
  • Miss Entropia and the Adam Bomb by George Rabasa (Unbridled Books)
  • Nothing Left to Lose by Allan G. Johnson (Plain View Press)
  • Show Up, Look Good by Mark Wisniewski (Gival Press)
  • Sleeping Tigers by Holly Robinson (CreateSpace)
  • The Descent of Man by Kevin Desinger (Unbridled Books)
  • The Evolution of Thomas Hall by Kieth Merrill (Shadow Mountain)

Yeah, I’ve never heard of most of them, either. I’m not sure what their agenda is, but here’s what their website says:

ForeWord Reviews‘ Book of the Year Awards were established to bring increased attention to librarians and booksellers of the literary and graphic achievements of independent publishers and their authors. ForeWord is the only review trade journal devoted exclusively to books from independent houses.

Our unique awards process brings readers, librarians, and booksellers together to select their top categories as well as choose the winning titles. Their decisions are based on editorial excellence, professional production, originality of the narrative, author credentials relative to the book, and the value the book adds to its genre.

If your books expand a reader’s world, introduce a voice society needs to hear, offer practical knowledge where none existed before, or simply entertain so compellingly that all distractions fall away, they should be submitted for the Book of the Year Award.

Comments are closed.